What I like about Sundays

I like Sundays because the pace is different. It’s refreshing in a way that my soul craves. Other days can be for working or getting household chores done, but Sunday is meant to recharge our batteries. For me, that means spiritually as well as physically.

This past Sunday was one of bright sunshine and pouring showers. You know the kind of day. Just when you think the rain has stopped and you get ready to step outside, the clouds come from nowhere and open up. I was on my way to church when suddenly a few determined ploppy drops became a steady shower and then rapidly progressed into what can only be termed a gully washer. I had an umbrella with me, but there was no denying that the trip from car to church entrance was going to be a soggy experience.

What to do? Wait in the car? No, that wouldn’t work. I like the music at that contemporary service I attend and the band always has a nice prelude before the service starts. I would put up my umbrella, I decided, and splash my way to the door.

A side note. Isn’t it interesting how people walk in the rain? There is nothing I could do, and I mean nothing short of staying in the car, that was going to keep me dry. The sidewalks were rivers. The rivers had currents, even. The rain came straight down, but pounded so hard that it came up again from the pavement and drenched the hem of my skirt. I was going to get wet, so I figured I might as well enjoy the chilly drenching and be thankful for what our earth surely needed. I splashed with great glee. Others were a bit more cautious, hunched under their umbrellas and stepping gingerly into the pavement rivers. And guess what? We all got equally soaked, but I had more fun.

Anyway, into church. Laughter and umbrellas stacked by the door and comments about the weather and beautiful music. Not a bad way to start the day.

Pastor John calls the little people up for a brief message before the sermon. Listening to it is always a sweet blessing because he makes a point and makes it very simply and the children add their thoughts so along with the simple point comes another moment of shared laughter. But the best part for me is watching the children march up the aisle to reach Pastor John.

The little girls of a certain age are very conscious of their appearance in pretty summer dresses with bows in their hair and nice sandals on their feet. They walk with solemn dignity, backs straight, sashaying maybe just a bit. They know the congregation’s eyes are on them and those pretty summer dresses.

And then there are the boys. Surely nobody is watching as they poke each other in the back, bound forward a few steps and then race back to walk beside a buddy, hop on the alter steps and sometimes bounce up and down right behind Pastor John as he is talking. Those steps are a temptation they can’t resist.

Little siblings are often guided by a big sister or brother whose face reflects the serious nature of the duty they are assuming. They hold the tiny trusting hand and walk all the way to the front of the church…it must seem like a long way there…and then all the way back to mama or daddy. They do not look around. They have a job to do and by golly, it’s going to be done the right way until they can relinquish that hand to a willing parent. Whew. Mission accomplished.

The rest of my rainy Sunday was spent in a lovely, quiet way until finally the sun came out for really, truly and I could walk my best buddy. We ended up at the park we both love and found others had the same idea. It was crowded with soccer players, undeterred by the sodden ground, and other walkers and children racing and shouting simply for the joy of being able to do so under the fresh-washed trees. The little creek that normally whispers a gentle hello as Charlie and I cross the bridge was flowing in full force, over its banks and rippling with enthusiasm off into a field. Not a danger to anything other than leaf boats and twig canoes, but full of its own importance. Jumping the banks, baby! Jumping the banks!

Everything that evening was fresh and clean and energized. I like Sundays, but that was one of the best.

This entry was posted in Random Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment